Realization

I’ve just read a blog post where the author was writing about bullying and social anxiety. Joel, I believe that is his name (I’ve lost the link), mentions that he experiences it even when out in the car; that he worries about what people will think of him if another car pulls up next to him. Also if his window is down and he’s playing music he will shut it in case he is judged for his choice of music.

The ‘penny dropped…

This is such a revelation to me. I feel so silly admitting to this but I now realize I have had social anxiety since I was about three years old. I thought it was only in the last few months. I’m 57 years old!! I feel silly because I didn’t recognize it as such until a few minutes ago.

I’m sure i clicked on follow so I’ll go search for the link…

Here it is 🙂

This is going to take some working through. I think another post may well come from this.

Author: yarnandpencil

I'm a Christian on the autistic spectrum blogging about life and my art/craft practice.

7 thoughts on “Realization”

    1. Thanks Susanne. It might take a while to process it. I feel shocked. Yes, you are right but it could take a while. I think I’ve hit the proverbial iceberg…yesterday evening I was only seeing what was above the surface of water. It’s now 3 am and I’m starting to see the murky depths below.
      I must be positive about this…

      Liked by 2 people

  1. My partner is the same as you with this, although he is getting better and taking my attitude of “to hell with the world and other peoples thoughts”. I am very carefree, and I realise that I am quite lucky being that way.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have also struggled with social anxiety and was very shy as a child. I still don’t like going into a crowded room where I don’t know anyone. It can be daunting. But I find that doing things that you love with others, even with complete strangers, really helps. Helping to run a ukulele group has made a huge difference to my life and has given me more confidence. Shared interests break down barriers and bring people together. I also find that many people also get nervous in group situations so we are all in the same boat and need to support each other.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

